Stupid stupid stupid ..

After an amazing talk with a friend just one night before, I had a BIIIG fight with another friend today. Actually it wasn’t as much of a fight, as a difference of opinion. He supports one group of people, and I BELONG to the other. And both can not co-exist. Can’t help it. I always knew that the day we discuss it, we would have a biig fight, but thanx to maddy it didn’t go as bad as I had thought initially. Anyway, at the end of it all, we are still friends and that’s more important. I don’t value anything more than friendship ( other than .. hmm .. a couple other things . ha ha ) and as long as we have discussions that end the way it did today, it’s all ok. Sorry If I said anything that hurt.
hmm .. other than that .. we seem to be busy discussing politics a lot. And not national or international politics, I am talking about Batch Politics. I better not say much, I am told I make too many inflammatory remarks. Last time I wrote a BIIG post and deleted it, because maddy told me that it was tooo rude and with 15 days to go, I shouldn’t be doing stuff like this. Anyway, I hope atleast the person whom I wrote it for, read it, before I deleted it ( yeah .. that is me .. EVIL EVIL ).
Council Elections are coming up in a few days, and I am seeing pretty much a repeat of what happened last year. And things, same as last year, have boiled over to Placements too. Juniors are having a tough time figuring out who should be their Placement Secretary. And Paddy says, that she doesn’t want a PS ( interesting .. Isn’t it ?? .. I wonder who would be attending all her 2 hour phone calls .. who would be running after her all the time to call more companies .. who would be following her all the time saying “Yes maam .. yess maam .. of course maam .. definately maam” ). I hope our juniors would understand how important a good Placement Secretary is, and would push a responsible person to do this. I am told that there is just too much infighting in their batch to come to a consensus .. but something has to be worked out, otherwise they are going to have a very difficult time during their placements.
During the Elections last year there were reports of a large number of incidents where some improper means was used to gain support and win votes. Apparently juniors (1st years ) were told that if they vote for person XYZ they would be given before hand information about Surprise Quizzes and such stuff. Another point, some people even reported that the candidate XYZ was telling northies that is he was elected he would make life better for north Indians. I have been living in this college for 4 years and I don’t see any part of college life which can be made any better. And why only north Indians, Why keep south Indians out .. ?? If there is betterment of life ( if at all ) .. shouldn’t it be same for north and south Indians. I wonder what were his crooked ideas. I supported candidate ABC all through the elections and didn’t feel the need for any other form of campaigning other than the one during the all batch meet where each candidate was supposed to present his agenda. But some other people ( read XYZ ) had been campaigning ( read .. whatever I wrote above ) for long before the agenda day and that went on till one day before the elections. As expected, XYZ won and we were thoroughly disappointed.
I am not sure, what XYZ did after winning the elections, because I kind of lost interest in all cultural activities after he won, mainly because I lost faith in the election process. So I don’t know whether he was a good cultural secretary or a bad one, but he lost all my respect the day I came to know, how he had been campaigning.
Anyway, it’s a thing of the past, and I don’t see any reason why I should even bother myself thinking about him. The college is doomed and would continue the downwards path until the day the “Free for all elections” rule is removed. I think that Faculty should screen the candidates, and also, if possible monitor the campaigning ( same as it was, before WE came up with the thought of , elections for,by the students ).
On a lighter note, I broke a GIRL’s headphones today. It wasn’t my mistake. It just happened. She wasn’t on her desk and I took her headphones to play Counter Strike. Just as I plugged them in, she came back and I returned it to her. After 5 seconds she came back saying that the pin is missing and I turned my head 30 degree NW to see the damn pin still attached to the headphone socket. I said sorry, but unfortunately the headphone was totally screwed up. We couldn’t fix it ( I tried, Vidit tried, Ranta tried ) however hard we tried. I put in all my engineering skills and Vidit at one point suggested that If I try too hard the headphone may work for 5 minutes and then there would be a short circuit. Imagine the girl listening to the music, happily, and then the stupid short circuit. I am going to take it to IN tomorrow to see if I can get it fixed. Rocky says “Chennai chala ja .. Vahan se usko parcel kar ke naya bhej dena ”
Another thing, I wrote the mail to ” palaniappan.x.subramanian ‘at’ verizon.com ” for my offer letter. I didn’t take a Xerox of the letter than was sent to us and now I don’t have any doc to take to Chennai that can prove that I was actually selected. Hope some thing works out there.
Life is, otherwise cool .. hey . .. btw .. Happy Holi to all of you .. have a nice time .. and stay away from booze and drugs .. it’s bad .. 😀 ..

6 Comments

Filed under Personal

6 responses to “Stupid stupid stupid ..

  1. “I didn’t take a Xerox of the letter than was sent to us and now I don’t have any doc to take to Chennai that can prove that I was actually selected.” – Were we supposed to make a xerox copy of the offer letter??? I didn’t make any copies, either. So, what are we supposed to do? Inform me also if anything in this regard comes up.

  2. ” And why only north Indians, Why keep south Indians out .. ?? If there is betterment of life ( if at all ) .. shouldn’t it be same for north and south Indians.”

    ? strange that people still look at it that way..I want to say “we are all indians” and all that kind of jazz..but wtf…does it matter where you are from?

    ” As expected, XYZ won and we were thoroughly disappointed.”

    I was genuinely *not* disappointed..I expected him to work..i was disappointed when he did not work..not when he was elected

    “I wonder who would be attending all her 2 hour phone calls .. who would be running after her all the time to call more companies .. who would be following her all the time saying “Yes maam .. yess maam .. of course maam .. definately maam”

    umm I know this sounds strange..but a lot of it is fun 🙂 promise…

  3. Life is too short and as you said, its just another 15 days with them…..chances are that you may not meet the other group ever in your life, so why be against them??

    Discrimination in India?? Among Indians itself?? Northies and Southies?? Phew…..we had a similar situation prevailing in my ex-campus, and it still does!

    Meetu, Ladki hain….you had to be careful with her belongings naa… But I appreciate that you didnot fix the headphones!!

  4. ramneek ,
    yeah . we were supposed to take a xerox of the letter .. I will let you know once i get a reply fromt heir end.

    Jayaram ,
    You expected him to work .. phew .. I knew , a person who has been elected the way he was, would never work .. so I just stopped caring. And attending to the phone calls was FUN ?? .. hmm nice one jaya

    Archana ,
    You appreciate that I didNOT get it fixed .. ?? soudns strange .. aneway .. are we not done with the meetu thing .. I thought we had a deal .. you break the pact and I’ll do the same .

  5. When educated people talk about North Indian and South Indian, its really a sad state of affairs.It means our education system has failed us badly. Indians fought as Indians for our freedom struggle, but it seems we have learnt nothing from our history.

  6. when you send me the mail, i didnot know what are you talking about. I didnot know the headphone you showed me was hers. now i get it.
    show her a finger and give it to me. i will use it.

Leave a Reply

