Coffee at Barista

A friend recently pointed out that I don’t look the type of guy who would ( actually the word was ‘could’ and hence more demoralizing ) sit all by himself at a coffee shop or for that matter eat alone. I knew that it was totally true. There have been days when I have’nt had lunch / dinner because I did’nt have company. I just can’t eat alone. Call it insecurity, call it stupidity whatever . but that was what I did.
This was till yesterday, until I decided to go ahead and do it. I biked for some distance, thinking about strange things. I did’nt even know where I was heading to. At each crossing, I randomly chose a direction and a couple of times I went in to one-ways , only to be chased out by the traffic policemen. Anyway .. I was’nt thinking anything about the destination of this drive .. and It felt GREAT. I had managed to find some secluded spots near Airport Road (which I am sure I would never be able to retrace) .. and without the honking cars and disturbing autos, the places felt great.
I someow managed to find my way back to Airport Road and decided that I wanted some coffee and I would I spent some time with myself.
So … I had coffee all by myself .. walked into a book shop at Leela palace .. and sat for about fifteen minutes listening to the STC open talk , bought three books and joined the Oxford Book club, which means that I would be invited for book reading sessions and book releases whenever they happen at Oxford.
Was a different kind of experience for someone who has been sufferring from the herd-mentality all his life. Felt good to break out !!

11 Comments

Filed under Personal

11 responses to “Coffee at Barista

  1. Sometimes, spending some time with yourself puts many things in different perspectives.. You may also chance upon a radically different outlook to life.

    But at one point I disagree with you. Spending some time in a book shop all by yourself does not mean spending time alone; you have so many books to keep you company. Some days I prefer that to being with friends 🙂

  2. ShallowOcean

    books and coffee and being all by yourself…nothing can be better!!
    you had a real great day :)…this sort would be a perfect idea for me to spend a holiday 🙂

  3. staying alone and being yourself does give some time to look within and explore yourself … but after a while it sucks 😦 ..

  4. skp

    Alone sucks …. but u njoied it this time … thats all matters….did all the Hyd comanies showed u a finger … why the hell dont u comeover here…..

  5. @KD ,
    The book thing was’nt about being alone .. it was just that i had finished my present stock .. and needed some more books . just that I was there all by myself with no HUMAN company :d
    @Shallow ,
    It did seem like a GREAT day .. I never thought being alone would be like this ..
    @Rocky ,
    “Explore myself” :d .. yeah sure ..
    @skp ,
    Dood .. it’s been just one year and i have already been in three companies .. Want to stick to this one for some time ..

  6. seriously_frivolous

    Been there done that! But in a far off place without the hustle and bustle on the city. Its transquilizing!

    But dood, where could you find this silence zone near airport road. Lemme know..would love to make a visit 🙂

  7. sometimes its also good to just take your bike and find a long long road…like the one to mehdipatnam..just that traffic shud b less..and keep going on the bike..on and on..and enjoy the wind..

  8. @seriously_frivolous
    Only if I could retrace my way back to the calm .. was’nt actually around airport road .. i went quite some distance .. and being rather new to bangalore , had a tough time finding my way back home.

    @sandeep ,
    the road before you get to Mehdipatnam is quite perfect for the kind of ride .. but tough to find such a place around here 😦

  9. hi utkarsh…
    spending time with one self has the gretest feeling..u know why becoz at that time u find urself..u talk with ur conscious and when u do that all ur misery resolves bcoz u are close to ur really self..
    so have a great time enjoying ur company with coffee and books…
    take care…..

  10. what you said looks good in text..but I cant get myself to do it..Man is created as a social animal u c..:-p

  11. @Mona
    thanx for droping
    Talking with myself .. not something I am very used to .. but got to do it for the first time on this occasion.
    And I am looking forward to the next time when I would be able to go out and enjoy by myself.

    @Roopa ,
    thanx for dropping by ..

    not everything works as created ( my programs .. for example ) .. unfortunately !! .. and when you are in short supply of good company .. you have to resort to such measures ..
    and it does give you a chance to look things differently ..

    PS : your blog name is funny 🙂 .. somehow the prominent words in the name seem to be PAIN and THOUGHT 😀 !!

Leave a Reply

