Maam .. err … Mera number kab aayega ??

The first few days in college are supposed to be the most memorable ones for anyone. Especially for someone living in hostel (compulsory @ IIIT .. though a few in our batch would deny that .. πŸ™‚ ) amongst new friends with the common factor of the fear of seniors being the sole uniting factor (at least for a start)
I distinctly remember my first few days in college .. and what I most fondly remember were the ragging days. Before I even stepped inside the college, I was instructed by a few friends who were already in other colleges to be cheerful and happy all the way. Because, it’s inevitable .. has to happen .. the seniors will screw you .. you can either cry all the time or be happy about it and remember it with a smile later on in life. And even though, I must admit, that some seniors did seem hell sent .. it was an overall nice experience. If made to recollect my fondest memory of those days .. it would have to the DCH after movie adventure.
It so happened that a few happy seniors one day asked me and a few lucky ( ? ) others to join them for a movie. I , of course, said yes ( like i had an option πŸ˜€ ) and went through. Sitting next to the biggest prankster of all, Puneet Vohra, I think I enjoyed the movie more than I would have otherwise. At one point he asked me if I was ok with getting up and dancing right there in the middle of the movie. For someone like me, who is born with four left feet, dancing was an equivalent to Greek and singing ( my friends will vote for this opinion of mine ) an equivalent to Latin. Anyway, with all the courage in my heart I got up .. but by this time Puneet was nice enough to call me back ( I don’t think I would have gone to that hall ever again in my life had I danced back then ). Anyway, the actual fun began after the movie ended. Well .. fun for Puneet and co .. for me .. ehh .. well .. lets see.
We got back to college .. and were walking back to the hostel when the senior gang noticed a rather famous ( and I must add .. VERY good looking ) female of their batch with a group of her friends. Her friends, must be hereon, be read as A and co. I don’t know what got into Puneet’s head, but he asked me to walk past that group, not look back , not talk to anyone , not wish anyone ( as was the cutom ) and say the words “Maam .. mera number kab aayega” .. Having just got back from a movie like DCH makes a person rather adventurous ( much against his actual persona ). I said yeah sure .. why not .. seems do-able .. is’nt it .. and started walking towards them . By the time I got near them, I think I was sweating .. and had fully realized what I had gotten myself into. The words seemed to be stuck somewhere in the internals of my stomach, truly refusing to come out. I could have very well just murmured the words, inaudible to any human , but in times of adversity .. bravery replaces commonsense in the mind of young daredevil. By that time I had come right next to them .. so .. I gathered all my available resources of courage and shouted ( yes .. SHOUTED ) .. “Maam ..” and after that followed a 30 second pause during which I felt about a zillion eyes on me .. trying to understand what this pencil thin guy was upto. I knew I had to say something .. and that something had to come out real fast .. Faster than the fast advancing β€˜A’ .. and I said , still walking next to them, and very skillfully avoiding their sideways glances .. “Mera number kab aayega” .. and added a smile for the effect.
What followed this .. is a sorry tale of a cheerful guy .. who was made to run up and down the three storied OBH building .. about 78 times in two hours .. so that his Bio-data ( πŸ™‚ ) was , at first , in a presentable state or , in the end , in a readable state. I think I learnt the art of mis-spelling every god damn word that day. And also, those up and down trips did wonders to my already athletic body. Since, this torture was not enough, for the nature of my crime demanded more, I stood in β€˜A’’s room for about .. what .. I think another hour or so .. trying to explain my case ( It is difficult to explain a non-existent case .. you see ) .. and at the end of all that .. went back to my room sobbing.
God .. those were the days ..

14 Comments

Filed under Humour, Personal

14 responses to “Maam .. err … Mera number kab aayega ??

  1. good post πŸ™‚

    p.s – just wanted to be the first to comment. will read it fully later [;)]

  2. Shirsha

    Yeah, u look like someone who mighta been fun to rag πŸ˜‰
    a good mixture of guts and the good boy image!
    So, what all did A make you do!? so much so that u had to sob!?

  3. 78 times in 2 hours! dude you should have first used the spell-check from Word, or any editor πŸ˜›
    and yeah I can vouch for your singing …. after puspendra & me, you are the next in line to win grammy-awards for not singing πŸ˜€

  4. @sam ,
    thanku dude .. ab ek baar poori post padh ke dubara comment karna πŸ˜€
    @shirsha ,
    What did A make me do .. uhmm .. well.. lets leave that for imagination. πŸ˜€
    @KD ,
    Spell check ?? dude .. you still remember the ragging days .. don’t you .. i was asked to come back in three minutes or be ready for another trip to the third floor. And thanx for the support in the singing department man .. πŸ˜€

  5. notice the ‘:P’ after that suggestion… or better I should have used ‘;)’ …. πŸ™‚
    too many smilies spoilth the comment

  6. nice post yaar.
    I remember that day very well dood. Aneways, as far as your dancing skills are concerned, i must admit that you are not that bad ..remember the day when you were asked to dance on the song “jeena yahan marna wahan” [;)].
    Really those were the days [;)]

    Last but not the least..GET WELL SOON

  7. @KD ,
    point taken πŸ˜€

    @Maddy ,
    yes . that was about to be my next post .. πŸ™‚
    and yes .. don’t worry . i will get well soon .. this post / comment is coming from the hospital death bed .. and that too a secluded one .. because they don’t want anyone else to get the disease i have .. so I am all alone .. but being a softie .. i have changed my virus to a comp virus .. and hence .. anyone who reads this comment would get the asme virus that i have .. all the best to you .. and GET WELL SOON πŸ˜€

  8. jayaram

    uncle uncle..i want the password for that password protected post

    are the rumor’s i keep hearing here and there true? my my whats the world coming to..a 2nd breakup in 6 or is it 7 months? you khare or upadhyay?

  9. Puneet made me say the exact same thing to Mukta and guess what, she told me that my number was 10th! i guess am still at 10. i wonder why the queue doesnt move forward πŸ˜‰

  10. kalyani

    lol…. alll ur frends comments are soo funny…and u singing and dancin to……he he…. they are like a post in themselves.. nice timepass… πŸ™‚ keep it gooinnn πŸ˜‰

  11. @jaya ,
    😦 .. dude .. lets not talk about that ..
    there are better things in life to discuss ..
    PS – Tu net kahaan se access kar raha hai ??
    jayaram (IP: 59.144.65.127 , dsl-ap-dynamic-127.65.144.59.touchtelindia.net) ??

    @sreejith ,
    πŸ˜€ .. the head of the queue refuses to be dequeued. Till that happens .. we shall wait and watch …

    @kalyani ,
    On behalf of the chairman of utkarsh’s friends’ society .. i thank you. And as for singing and dancing .. it was not a one-man-show .. Maddy was singing and I was made to dance .. and that $@#%#$ chose to sing “jeena yahaan .. marna yahaan” .. I don’t think I can dance .. and to dance to that song requires something special anyway.

  12. het utkarsh, you reminded me of my collage days…
    ragging was so fun…
    at one incidence we all juniours have to shout “hum noida nahi denge” while making a parade in our appartments where so amny other families also live..they all were laughing and enjoying our ragging…

    but really that were the days…

  13. @mona
    yeah .. how i wish I could go back to college ..
    pretty bad that it happens just once in one’s life.

  14. Kool, Kya post maari hai .. mazaa aa gaya padh ke .. waise A Bole to ..

Leave a Reply

