Shaken .. and a little stirred too :)

I don’t know how many of you have had road accidents, but I had a pretty major one today and coming out of it with just a bruise on my left hand and a little bleeding from my left knee makes me wonder if there really is something in what these fortune tellers keep filling my mom’s ears with.
Just yesterday, my mom called to tell me to drive safely because she has been told by you-know-who that he sees a bike accident for me in near future and unless my mom does some pooja ( in other words .. feed the idiot with loads of food and respect ) … the danger to my well being shall continue. He also went on to say that it won’t be a major accident, and not fatal by any standard. How true he was .. but then again .. he can’t be so to the point and precise.
Anyway .. lets move on to the details of the accident .. and i know every one who has had an accident tells you this but in my case, it was literally true .. “It wasn’t my fault” πŸ™‚ .. I was driving along merrily .. noticing the more than usual chirping of the birds and less than usual traffic on the road .. when there came a juncture in my journey when I had to overtake an auto .. and there was a bus coming from the other side. On any other day, I would have done it with the ease of taking butter out from refrigerator and gulping it down with hot rotis .. but today was different .. today, Satan was stationed on my way … just to make sure that you-know-who gets his way .. Anyway .. Just as I was half way over-taking the auto .. I felt a push to my bike from behind and before I could even say “what the F&*K”, I was on the ground on all fours and was noticing that the chirping of the birds was lot lesser and the traffic suddenly seemed a lot thicker .. Oh .. and then it hit me .. these people have stopped to pick me up from the road .. I limped out of the road to the pedestrian walk and some nice people stopped their vehicles ( at the expense of loud horns and shouts from those who could not see what had happened ) .. The auto that I was trying to overtake offered me water and brought my bike to me .. He was also nice enough to tell everyone that the accident was not my fault and he saw some bike driver pushing my bike while I was overtaking his auto .. That took my attention to the bike and for the first time I noticed the damage that was done .. the front of the bike came under the bus wheels .. and my bike wheels and the spokes and the mud-guard and the drum ( the round thing in the middle of the tyre ) could easily be confused together for one lump of solid steel with some rubber wrapped around it .. I somehow gathered enough sense ( thanks to the water ) and after people around me left, i started looking for a bike repair shop. Thankfully there was one very close by and now my bike is off for repair. Total expenses are expected to be in the range of 3 to 5k .. But that is not bad .. the worst feeling was when an old man at the bike repair shop started asking me about the accident and when I told him that I fell to the left of the road and the bike to the right .. he said “Thank god .. wonder what would have happened if it was the other way round”

11 Comments

Filed under Personal

11 responses to “Shaken .. and a little stirred too :)

  1. Manoj

    dude…
    I hope this is a April fool.. joke.
    but if its not… let find that biker who
    hit you from the back πŸ™‚

  2. hmm, if its april fools joke, sick!

    other than that. .. dude there is no point making gods happy .. there are just TOO many for them. Do some good to the satan!

    get well soon…

  3. Oye thik thak to hai na ??

  4. @majji and Vishurao ,
    I hope it was a joke guys .. but its not .. 😦 ..

    @Majji ,
    wish i could stop that biker .. I would have bashed the living hell out of that guy .. !!

    @Vishu,
    true .. πŸ™‚

    @Rocky ,
    yeah .. better now .. not in so much of a daze πŸ™‚

  5. Asheesh

    Take care dude ..
    sometimes we have to suffer bec of some one else’s fault..
    so be careful πŸ™‚

  6. dude take care.. and really you are very lucky…

  7. U r a lucky bastard. Anyways do take care while overtaking. Bangalore traffic sucks big time. come back to hyd πŸ™‚

    Take good care fo your body now .. tk sm rest, visit some spa’s have some full body massage :p

    and call imran if u feel bored ;))

  8. smr

    dude!
    that was scary.
    after all of this.. i will say that it was your lucky day.
    take care. yea yeah.. β€œIt wasn’t your fault”

  9. Ga

    Dood take care … have rest and follow Sams suggestion πŸ™‚

    B’lore traffic is gettin btr wid each passin day … I too had a minor brush in the afternoon but not as bad as yours.

    Btw, ur fone# says does not exist. I hope d biker did not run away wid dat. πŸ˜›
    (Prolly, I have an older #)

  10. @Asheesh ,
    sure dude .. will be more careful now on πŸ™‚

    @KD ,
    yeah .. was a close shave πŸ™‚

    @Sam ,
    bangalore traffic does suck .. and the spa idea is actually making me think πŸ˜€ ..

    @Smr ,
    that doesnt sound very convinced .. It really wasn’t my fault πŸ˜€

    @Gaurav ,
    naah .. phone very much with me πŸ˜€ .. the biker did not run away with it πŸ™‚

  11. Shirsha

    sheesh, sweetie, are you alright!? i shud prob not be asking u this on your blog… i’ll come by sometime today, are you in office? again i shudn’t be asking u this on your blog..

Leave a Reply

